(+254) 722612841 info@wscsd-kenya.wscsd.org
Sustainability Through Collaboration

WSCSD-Kenya is a youth-led and student-focused non-profit organization, aimed at creating opportunities for students to learn more about Sustainable Development and live it by collaboratively undertaking projects within campus and at the community level.

WSCSD-Kenya is the local chapter of the global WSCSD network and evolved from the Students for Global Sustainability – University of Nairobi (SfGS-UoN), a single student community formed in 2006 at the University of Nairobi (UoN). The organization is currently autonomous, serving all universities in Kenya and was legally registered by the Kenyan government in 2013.


During the World Student Summit for Sustainability (S3) in 2012, it was observed that for a full realization of WSCSD’s vision in Kenya, the formation of a coordinative body was imperative. This gave birth to WSCSD-Kenya, which was consequently registered in July 2013.

What started off with only a few students from University  of Nairobi’s Students for Global Sustainability (SfGS-UoN) has since grown to form a large network of like-minded students and youth committed to addressing the multi-faceted sustainability challenges in Kenya. To date, WSCSD-Kenya spearheads implementation of sustainability-related projects within and outside of campuses in Kenya.


To be the leading force for sustainability and a hub for student engagement in championing Sustainable Development (SD) in Kenya and beyond


To inspire, inform, motivate and empower students to create sustainable communities around them.

WSCSD’s mission is three fold:

  • Explore sustainability on campus and beyond
  • Engage in creating positive eco-social change
  • Empower a network of student innovators and entrepreneurs focused on community solutions and sustainability.



  1. Propagate the agenda of sustainability and sustainable development among students both as a relevant academic discourse and a culture of practice;
  2. Encourage and empower students to promote the concept of sustainability, both in centers of learning and the society at large, by way of facilitating the implementation of community-based projects;
  3. Host and participate in sustainability forums, local and international.


           Executive Board

Nickson Otieno – President

Bonface Nduma – Vice-President

Samuel Atula – Secretary

Joyce Kafu – Director, Communications


  1. Obadiah Ombati
  2. Esther Osano
  3. Elidah Onyango
  4. Vincent Kipkirui
  5. Antline Kerubo
  6. Diana Inyambura
  7. Joyce Mukoma
  8. Lucy Wanjiku
  9. Susan Mithamo
  10. George Karanja

      Advisory Board

Mahesh Pradhan – UNEP EETU

Dr. Ayub Macharia – NEMA

Prof. Mungai – WMI – UoN

Suzanne Owiyo – Musician

Julie Gichuru – Media Personality



Quick Links to other pages:



Events and Opportunities

Reports and Photos